I Know Where I’m Going (1945)

Standard
Still from I-know-where-I'm-going movie (image via Flickr creative commons Jon-Rubin)

Joan comes face to face with the fly in her ointment (image: jon rubin FlickrCC)

In a word: stoic
Movie Pieces rating: 4/5

Upper lips are stiff and conversations are hearty in Powell and Pressburger’s atmospheric wartime romance I Know Where I’m Going set in the Scottish Highlands.

Joan Webster (Wendy Hillier) is stubborn, ambitious and always focussed (she knows where she’s going) and after doing a stint as a London working girl has landed herself a very rich, rather old, Scottish laird as a fiancé. Heading up to the Isle of Kiloran to be married it looks as though life will continue to bend to her will…but the wild magic of the Scottish highlands, and the eccentric bunch of characters she meets, offer a tantalising alternative.

Funny, fast-paced and as bracing as a breath of island air, this film is as fresh as if it were made yesterday.

Notes
Director: Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger
Writers: Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger
Cinematographer: Erwin Hiller

Leave a comment